The Overthrow Rules 4.11 for both Pioneer divisions have been revamped to encourage the kids (and especially the coaches) to make a play on the runners instead of simply getting the ball back to the pitcher to “kill the play.” In previous years, attempting plays and missing promoted the kids simply running the bases non-stop or simply throwing back to the pitcher. This was no fun to watch. We want the kids to learn how to play the game and make plays.

With the new rules in effect, the worst that can happen is giving up 2 bases (or 3 bases to outfield) on all runners in the event of ANY overthrow on an attempt to make a play on ANY runner. Balls thrown past the cut-off or the pitchers do not constitute an overthrow.

SCENARIO 1:
Runner on 1st base and Batter hits a shot to the right field. By the time the outfielder picks it up and throws the ball back in, the Runner from 1st is rounding 3rd and the Batter/Runner is rounding 2nd base. The infielder attempts a play at 3rd, but unfortunately the ball goes whizzing by the 3rd baseman, so the Batter/Runner heads home.

In this case, there is an Overthrow at 3rd base while making a play on the Batter/Runner. Do both scores count or do the runners go back to 2nd and 3rd?

The ball was hit to the outfield (touches grass); therefore, there is a maximum of 3 bases any runner can safely achieve in the event of an overthrow at any base. The runner from 1st base scores. The batter/runner must go back to 3rd base in this scenario.

Leave a Comment